CRASH COURSE
With Senior Educator, Charlotte Korchak

The History of Israel, Zionism, and the Conflicts

 4 Virtual Sessions    1 Hour Each    $25 for all 4 Sessions 

 SUNDAY CRASH COURSE 

10:30am PST/1:30pm EST/6:30pm BST/8:30pm ISR

 

From Ancient to Modern

Sunday, June 27th

Zionism and Jewish Statehood

Sunday, July 4th

The Rise and Decline of the

Arab-Israeli Conflict

Sunday, July 11th

The Evolution of the
Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Sunday, July 25th

SUNDAY
Crash Course Payment Form
Once submitted, please check your inbox or junk mail for your confirmation with zoom link.

 MONDAY & THURSDAY 
CRASH COURSE 

10am PST/1pm EST/6pm BST/8pm ISR

 

From Ancient to Modern

Monday, June 28th

Zionism and Jewish Statehood

Thursday, July 1st

The Rise and Decline of the

Arab-Israeli Conflict

Monday, July 5th

The Evolution of the
Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Thursday July 8th

MONDAY & THURSDAY
Crash Course Payment Form
Once submitted, please check your inbox or junk mail for your confirmation with zoom link.

Crash Course on the History of Israel, Zionism, and the Conflicts

 

This course will include the following four sessions, each an hour long, providing the participants with an in-depth understanding of the history of the Arab-Israeli and Israeli-Palestinian Conflicts.


1. From Ancient to Modern

To understand the modern-day conflict, one must understand the history of both Jewish and Arab connection to the land. Diving deep into Jewish history, this session will cover Jewish indigeneity and historic presence in the land, both the Babylonian and Roman exiles, and the roots of Zionism. We will also trace rule of Judea/Palestine post-exile, which will bring us to Islamic conquest and the beginning of Arab/Muslim connection to the land.
 

2. Zionism and Jewish Statehood

As we enter modern times, the territory rests in the hands of the Ottoman Empire, and we start to see the rise of nationalism in Europe. With that as our backdrop, here we will uncover the evolution of the Jewish national movement, discuss key Zionist figures, and their efforts to gain support for a Jewish State. Lastly, we will examine the impact of WWI, the Mandate period, attempts at partition, and resulting statehood.
 

3. The Rise and Decline of the Arab-Israeli Conflict

The War of Independence in 1948 will result in a Jewish State, and an aftermath of both new territorial boundaries and refugees. We also see ongoing Arab-rejectionism, which eventually will lead to both the Six Day and the Yom Kippur Wars. We will discuss all these issues and wrap up this session by discussing Israel’s peace treaties and warming relations with the Arab world today.
 

4. The Evolution of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

From the aftermath of the nakba (the Catastrophe) in 1948, a new distinct people will emerge: the Palestinians. In this session we will dive deep into the evolution of the Palestinian National identity and movement, their terror actions taken against the state, and the numerous attempts Israel had made in the last 30 years to negotiate a peaceful settlement with their leaders.

StandWithUs

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

StandWithUs (SWU) is an international and non-partisan Israel education organization that inspires and educates people of all ages and backgrounds, challenges misinformation and fights antisemitism.

Fiscal Management: for the last seven years StandWithUs has obtained the highest possible ratings from two preeminent rating agencies:

GuideStar and Charity Navigator

© 2021 by StandWithUs

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon